Three scientists recently earned a place in the U.S. Department of Agriculture's Agricultural Research Service's Science Hall of Fame.

  • Carroll P. Vance is a retired Agricultural Research Service supervisory plant physiologist who worked at the agency’s Plant Science Research Unit in St. Paul, Minnesota. He's an international authority on plant physiology whose research on legumes is helping to ensure agricultural sustainability at a time when population growth is increasing global demand for food. Vance has made major contributions to increasing the genetic diversity of soybeans, producing 30,000 lines that have been used worldwide and led to many improved varieties.
  • Joan K. Lunney is a supervisory research scientist at the Agricultural Research Service's Animal Parasitic Diseases Laboratory in Beltsville, Maryland. She's an internationally recognized expert in swine immunology, genomics and the genetics of resistance to infectious diseases. She co-leads the Porcine Reproductive and Respiratory Syndrome Host Genetics Consortium, which has identified genes associated with improved growth and resistance to the disease.
  • Kerry L. O’Donnell is a microbiologist at the Agricultural Research Service's Mycotoxin Prevention and Applied Microbiology Research Unit in Peoria, Illinois. He's internationally recognized for innovative research that helped revolutionize the field of fungal systematics and fundamentally changed how fungi are detected, identified and classified according to their relationships. O’Donnell’s pioneering research using deoxyribonucleic acid -- DNA -- sequencing technologies helped usher in a new era of molecular analyses of fungal-species diversity and their evolutionary histories.

The scientists earned Hall of Fame membership because of their pioneering and impactful research in agriculture sustainability, swine disease and control, and fungi of major significance to agricultural production, food safety and public health. The Science Hall of Fame was established in 1986 to honor senior agency researchers for outstanding lifelong achievements in agricultural science and technology. Visit for more information.