Beef Checkoff logo

Cattle producers Chuck Coffey, Jared Brackett and Hugh Sanburg are the new leaders of the Cattlemen’s Beef Promotion & Research Board. The officer team is responsible for guiding the national Beef Checkoff Program throughout 2019.

Coffey, Brackett and Sanburg were recently elected unanimously by their fellow beef-board members. Coffey will now serve as the chairman of the Cattlemen's Beef Board, while Brackett will transition from his role as the 2018 secretary-treasurer to vice-chair. Sanburg is the newest member of the officer team, taking on Brackett’s former responsibilities as secretary-treasurer.

Coffey is a fifth-generation rancher who grew up on a ranch in the hill country of Harper, Texas. He earned his bachelor's and master's degrees in range science from Texas A&M University. After completing his master’s degree in 1985, Coffey taught agriculture at Murray State College in Tishomingo, Oklahoma. He eventually chaired the department, until 1993 when he joined the Noble Foundation as a pasture and range consultant. Currently Coffey and his wife operate a cow-calf operation with about 1,000 head of cattle near Springer, Oklahoma.

Brackett is a fifth-generation cow-calf producer from Filer, Idaho. Brackett is a Texas A&M University alumni with a degree in agriculture economics. A past-president of the Idaho Cattlemen’s Association, Brackett continues to serve on a number of other livestock committees and boards in addition to his responsibilities with the Beef Checkoff Program.

Sanburg hails from Eckert, Colorado, where he's a managing partner with his brother of their primarily Horned Hereford cow-calf operation, accompanied by a Registered Hereford operation to complement the commercial herd. Sanburg graduated from Colorado School of Mines with a degree in mining engineering in 1983 before moving back to the home ranch in western Colorado. For the past 30 years Sanburg has been an active member of the Colorado Farm Bureau, serving on various boards. He is also a member of the Colorado Cattlemen’s Association and serves as chairman of the Gunnison Basin Roundtable.

Visit for more information.