Well-known TV show host Mike Pearson will serve as master of ceremonies for the South Dakota Corn Growers Association’s 31st annual meeting Jan. 21 in Sioux Falls.

The event will include a full day of presentations on topics that include grain marketing, soil health and the next farm bill. All of the presentations are free. So is lunch for those who pre-register at sdcorn.org.

The educational program will kick off at 9 a.m. The day’s first presentation will be a marketing session by Ted Seifried, chief market strategist with the Zaner Ag Hedge Group. Seifried specializes in agricultural hedging using futures, futures spreads, outright options and option combinations.

That will be followed at 10:30 by a soil health panel discussion. Panelists are Nick Goeser, Wayne Honeycutt and Doug Karlen. Goeser is soil health and sustainability director with the National Corn Growers Association. Honeycutt is president and CEO of the Soil Health Institute, where he leads programs to safeguard and enhance the vitality and productivity of soils. Karlen is a distinguished senior research scientist with the USDA’s Agricultural Research Service.

At lunch, South Dakota Secretary of Agriculture Mike Jaspers will be the featured speaker.

The afternoon session will open with a discussion on setting the stage for the next farm bill, featuring panelists Chris Clayton, David DeGennaro and Christy Seyfert. Clayton is ag policy editor for DTN/The Progressive Farmer. DeGennaro is agricultural policy specialist at the National Wildlife Federation. Seyfert is assistant vice president and director of crop insurance for Rural Community Insurance Services.

Pearson, host of “Market to Market” and “Weekly Journal of Rural America,” will close out the educational program with his presentation at 4 p.m.

The evening banquet will begin at 5:30 with a social time and silent auction, followed by a meal. Keynote speaker for the evening banquet will be Chris Novak, executive director of the National Corn Growers Association. Jim Woster, a well-known South Dakota agriculture advocate, will be the evening’s master of ceremonies.

The banquet entertainment will be provided by the Surf City All Stars, a band that includes original Beach Boys Al Jardine and David Marks as well as Dean Torrence of Jan & Dean.