Illinois flood damage
Gov. J.B. Pritzker

Gov. J.B. Pritzker

SPRINGFIELD, Ill. — Illinois Gov. J.B. Pritzker issued a new state disaster proclamation June 20, adding two new counties — Knox and Henry — in response to the extensive flooding along the Mississippi, Illinois rivers and its tributaries.

This most recent proclamation adds the local counties to the areas directly impacted by this flood. The state has been actively involved in flood fighting operations for more than 100 days, with rivers still in major flood stages.

“With heavy rain and historic flooding, rivers have crested throughout the state, causing untold damage to our communities,” Pritzker said in a news release. “Homes, businesses, roads, bridges and farms have all been impacted, and local resources are nearing exhaustion as rains continue. I want to be clear: This administration will continue to provide all resources at our disposal to help our communities withstand and recover from this historic flooding. We stand with you and are here to help.”

In all, 37 counties in Illinois are now covered under a state disaster proclamation. Those counties include: Adams, Alexander, Brown, Bureau, Calhoun, Carroll, Cass, Fulton, Greene, Grundy, Hancock, Henderson, Henry, Jackson, Jersey, Jo Daviess, Knox, LaSalle, Madison, Marshall, Mason, Mercer, Monroe, Morgan, Peoria, Pike, Putnam, Randolph, Rock Island, Schuyler, Scott, St. Clair, Tazewell, Union, Whiteside, and Woodford.

The governor issued the first State Disaster Proclamation on May 3 to ensure state support to communities that are battling floods caused by weeks of elevated river levels and heavy rains.

Sign up for our weekly CropWatch newsletter

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.