UPDATE 9:54 a.m. March 15: Levees on the Missouri River have been breached in Mills and Fremont counties.

In response to flooding beginning March 13, Gov. Kim Reynolds issued a disaster proclamation for 21 Iowa counties. She also activated Iowa’s State Emergency Operations Center to coordinate the response to flooding.

Counties included in her proclamation are Butler, Cerro Gordo, Clayton, Hancock, Harrison, Humboldt, Ida, Iowa, Kossuth, Mills, Monona, Montgomery, O’Brien, Pottawattamie, Sioux, Webster, Winnebago, Winneshiek, Woodbury, Worth and Wright.

These photos were taken along the Nishnabotna River near Malvern in Mills County, Iowa.

For information on the program, go to iowacommunityaction.org.