LUBBOCK, Texas — The National Sorghum Producers board of directors elected Don Bloss, sorghum farmer from Pawnee City, Neb., as chairman at the annual August board meeting.

“Don Bloss is an experienced voice in the sorghum industry, having served previously as the chair of NSP’s Legislative Committee,” said Tim Lust, NSP chief executive officer. “We look forward to his contributions and insights as NSP engages in discussions related to the next farm bill.”

The NSP board also elected Dan Atkisson from Stockton, Kan., as vice chairman. James Born from Booker, Texas, moves to the past chairman position. Mike Battin of Chromatin Inc., who serves as the industry member on the NSP board, was also re-elected to a second term.

The board appointed three new members who will serve three-year terms beginning Oct. 1: Bobby Nedbalek from Sinton, Texas; Kody Carson from Olton, Texas; and Larry Earnest of Star City, Ark. 

“We welcome these new leaders and are excited to have their representation and diverse experiences on the NSP board of directors,” said Bloss. “There are crucial issues our board will face in the coming year, and we look forward to their assistance in moving the sorghum industry forward.”

Nedbalek farms in South Texas and is a member of Texas Regional Water Planning Group, San Patricio County Economic Development Corp., and the South Texas Cotton and Grain Association.

Carson is an active member in his local West Texas community where he farms. He is also involved with the Ag Producers Co-op and Plains Cotton Cooperative Association.

Earnest farms in southeastern Arkansas and is currently involved in the National Research Center Administrators Society and the Southern Association of Agricultural Scientists.

Sign up for our Daily Headlines newsletter

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.