The Radio Television Digital News Association recently presented its Edward R. Murrow Awards, which are categorized by market size. The rural winners included:

The Eastern whippoorwill (
Vermont Public Radio, for overall excellence in small markets; coverage included a series on mental health care, the governor's reversal of a pledge to oppose more gun controls, a look at which towns issue the most speeding tickets, a comparison of dairy farmers in the state and adjoining Quebec, and a feature on the plight of a threatened bird species, the whippoorwill.

Marfa Public Radio in Texas, for feature reporting ("Without Hospice, Who Gets To Die In The Big Bend?) and for coverage via social media and multimedia.

Montana Public Radio, for a documentary titled "Cold Comfort" about climate change in the Arctic.

North State Public Radio in California , for continuing coverage of the Paradise wildfire.

Wyoming Public Radio, for excellence in sound in its coverage of scientists racing to research a stonefly species threatened by climate change.

Maine Public Radio, for excellence in video in a story about the Mount Washington weather station.

Some large-market winners covered rural topics. KARE-TV in Minneapolis won for hard news with a story on the troubles of dairy farmers, and NPR and PBS "Frontline" won for investigative reporting with "Coal's Deadly Dust," based on the reporting of Howard Berkes, who retired from NPR early this year. The complete list of winners is here.