2019 Bob Hines Swine Classic

The top five in the senior showmanship division at the 2019 Bob Hines Swine Classic include (from left) Alya Arana (Finney County), James DeRouchey (Pottawatomie County), Braden Mai (Russell County), Abi Lillard (Dickinson County) and Zane McDougal (Leavenworth County).

MANHATTAN, Kan. — More than 150 Kansas youth from 45 counties exhibited 317 pigs in the 2019 Bob Hines Swine Classic June 28-29 at Kansas State University.

Youth competed in a skillathon and photography contests, a pork cook-off and showmanship, as well as prospect and market hog classes. Brian Hines of Quincy, Mich., judged the event, which is named after his father, Dr. Bob Hines.

Hayden Englert of Washington County exhibited the grand champion prospect pig, followed by Landon Roberts, Marion County, reserve; Jacob DeRouchey, Pottawatomie County, third, James DeRouchey, Pottawatomie County, fourth; and Tyra Meyer, Lincoln County, fifth.

The champion market pig was awarded to Aubriana Vannocker of Coffey County. Completing the top five market pigs were Kyser Nemecek, Allen County, reserve; Kason Ramsey, Finney County, third, Travis Oliver, Finney County, fourth; and McKinley Sutton, Bourbon County, fifth.

In the senior showmanship division, Alya Arana of Finney County was named grand champion. The rest of that class included:

• Reserve champion, James DeRouchey, Pottawatomie County

• 3rd, Braden Mai, Russell County

• 4th, Abi Lillard, Dickinson County

• 5th, Zane McDougal, Leavenworth County

In the intermediate division, Jenna DeRouchey of Pottawatomie County was named grand champion showman. The other winners in that class included:

• Reserve champion, Lane Higbie, Franklin County

• 3rd, Calla Higbie, Franklin County

• 4th, Kyser Nemecek, Allen County

• 5th, Kaden Stroup, Linn County

In the junior division, Anah Higbie, Franklin County, was named grand champion showman. The other winners in that class included:

• Reserve champion, Marley Sutton, Bourbon County

• 3rd, McKinley Sutton, Bourbon County

• 4th, Tayte Leck, Wilson County

• 5th, Gentry Ward, Miami County

In the Skillathon contest, the top five seniors included Cord Dodson, Montgomery County, champion; James DeRouchey, Pottawatomie County, reserve; Brenden Anderson, Montgomery County, third; Abi Lillard, Dickinson County, fourth; and Kolton Hall, Montgomery County, fifth.

The top five intermediate finishers in the Skillathon included Lane Higbie, Franklin County, champion; Jenna DeRouchey, Pottawatomie County, reserve; Kyser Nemecek, Allen County, third; Garrison Moore, Douglas County, fourth; and Lincoln Martin, Ford County, fifth.

In the junior Skillathon, winners included Anah Higbie, Franklin County, champion; Layla Pickering, Dickinson County, reserve; Tayte Leck, Wilson County, third; Harry Langill, Nemaha County, fourth; and Ashton Neill, Atchison County, fifth.

Paige Snyder of Jackson County had the champion people’s choice photograph, followed by Ty Jones of Wabaunsee County with reserve.

The champion pork cook-off award went to the Bacon family of Morris County.

The event is hosted by K-State Research and Extension and the Kansas State University Department of Animal Sciences and Industry.

Sign up for our Weekly newsletter

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.