Skip to main content
You have permission to edit this article.
South Dakota Soybean awards top yields

South Dakota Soybean awards top yields

Soybean yield winner

Minnehaha County soybean farmer Doug Van Duyn, left, receives an award from Jon Schaeffer for his first place yield in the South Dakota Soybean 2018 Yield Contest. His beans yielded 113.94 bushels per acre with Hefty: 19R6R2. He was recognized during a Dec. 5 awards ceremony held in conjunction with the annual South Dakota Soybean Recognition Banquet held in Sioux Falls.

Soybean farmers from Minnehaha, Hutchinson and Moody counties are the winners of the 2018 South Dakota Soybean Yield Contest. Each receiving a cash prize, the winners were recognized during the annual South Dakota Soybean Recognition Banquet on Dec. 5 in Sioux Falls.

Sponsored by the South Dakota Soybean Research & Promotion Council (SDSRPC) and managed by the South Dakota Soybean Association, this annual contest encourages soybean growers to push yield limits and share best management practices.

Doug Van Duyn of Minnehaha County placed first in the overall contest, yielding 113.94 bushels with Hefty: 19R6R2. Tim Hofer of Hutchinson County placed first in the master class yielding 109.12 bushels with Legend: LS28X840. Brady Johnson of Moody County placed first in the youth class non-irrigated category, yielding 78.5 bushels with Integra: 51629N, and Samuel Bender from Hutchinson County placed first in the youth class irrigated category, yielding 74.84 bushels with LG: 1870R2.

"South Dakota soybean growers are good at what they do," said Jon Schaeffer, a second-generation Viborg farmer who chairs the South Dakota Soybean Yield Contest committee and serves on the South Dakota Soybean Association board. "This contest highlights those who have the highest yields so others can learn from their management successes."

Entries for the yield contest were categorized by soybean maturity and sub-divided into three categories: Irrigated, Non-irrigated and No-till. Each first place winner received a $2,000 cash prize. The second place winner in each category received a $1,500 cash prize, and the third place winner in each category received a $1,000 cash prize.

Since 2017, the Yield Contest has included two additional classes; the youth class, designed to encourage the next generation of soybean growers, and the master class, focused on making South Dakota's best soybean growers better.

The first place winners of the annual yield contest included the following South Dakota soybean growers:

Tim Hofer - 109.12 bushels/acre, Hutchinson County, Master Class

Doug Van Duyn - 113.94 bushels/acre, Minnehaha County, Group 1 Non-irrigated

Brady Johnson - 75.8 bushels/acre, Moody County, Youth Class 0-1 Non-irrigated

Samuel Bender - 74.84 bushels/acre, Hutchinson County, Youth Class 0-1 Irrigated

Kory Standy - 100.77 bushels/acre, Charles Mix County, Group 0 or 1 Irrigated

Kory Standy - 95.75 bushels/acre, Charles Mix County, Group 2 or 3 Irrigated

Jacob Waldner - 89.90 bushels/acre, Clark County, Group 2 No-till

Rodd Beyer - 87.16 bushels/acre, Roberts County, Group 0 Non-Irrigated

Jay Kokes - 84.86 bushels/acre, Charles Mix County, Group 3 No-Till

Blake Carda - 83.18 bushels/acre, Yankton County, Group 2 Non-irrigated

David Johanson - 78.64 bushels/acre, Moody County, Group 0 No-Till

James Hora - 76.98 bushels/acre, Hutchinson County, Group 3 Non-Irrigated

Charles Miner - 74.07 bushels/acre, Beadle County, Group 1 No-Till

For a complete list of winners, visit and click on the 2018 Yield Contest Results on the Agronomic Data page.

Attend 2019 Soy100 Seminars

Learn more about increasing your soybean yields by attending a Soy100 Seminar. Utilizing data and best management practices from nearly a decade of Yield Contests as well as research-based information, these agronomist-led educational seminars focus on best management practices to help farmers increase soybean yields and quality.

2019 Soy100 Seminars will be held in Brookings, March 13 on campus at South Dakota State University and in Aberdeen on March 14 at the Best Western Ramkota. A complete agenda will be available upon registration. The seminar begins at 7:30 a.m. and runs until 3 p.m. To register, visit or call the South Dakota Soybean Office at 605-330-9942

The Tri-State Neighbor Weekly Update

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Most Popular

"According to a 2001 paper, it is estimated that the total annual cost of erosion from agriculture in the U.S. is about $44 billion or about $100 per acre of cropland and pasture."

Find the equipment you're looking for

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


Breaking News